Tranquil gardens and a picturesque lake for visitors to enjoy – Queen's Park isn't only a Green Flag Park, it's also a great day out for all the family.
Address: 158 Queen's Park Road, Heywood OL10 4UY.
Opening times: 24 hours, 7 days a week.
Facilities at Queen's Park
There's a range of facilities at Queen's Park, including:
- Activity centre, including BMX track
Queen's Park Cafe
- 2 playgrounds, including a toddlers' play area
- Tennis court
- FREE car park and toilets
- Crown green bowling green and pavillion
- Grassland, wetland and wildlife areas
- Site based maintenance staff and secure fully fenced site
Friends of Queen's Park
Friends of Queen's Park is a community group set up to aid the preservation of Queen's Park.
History of Queen's Park
Queen's Park opened in 1879 with money given to the town by Queen Victoria. The land was bought from the estate of Charles Martin Newhouse, a local cotton manufacturer, who died without making a will.
The park was extended in the 1920s to form the boating lake with land gifted from Alderman Davis Healey.
Gallery of Queen's Park
View a selection of images showcasing Queen's Park.